Weldon L. Haywood


The Sham & Shel book series is the fictitious story about Shamrock Jones (Sham) and Shelton Johnston (Shel) and their emotional union they formed as they built an empire consisting of the Slash Double S Ranch and other properties in the old west Oregon territory.

*eBook includes iBooks, PDF & ePub versions

Published by Platform like:

About The Series

SHAM & SHEL (Book Series)

The Sham & Shel book series is a continuing story about a young Black man, Shamrock Jones (Sham) and a young White woman, Shelton Johnston (Shel) and the emotional union they formed while building an empire.

What initially began with a contentious meeting, develops into a romance that quickly evolves into a forbidden love affair and concludes into a marriage. Enjoy reading about the challenges they face, the journeys they take, and the empire they build together as husband and wife.

Enjoy being introduced to the many characters that help Sham and Shel build their coveted Double S Ranch and other properties they become owners.

Regardless of the many dangerous and challenging situations they face, Sham and Shel work together as an inseparable couple doggedly determined to succeed. There is also a lot of humor blended into the book series to enhance the readers’ reading enjoyment.

About The Author

Weldon L. Haywood, Sr -Author – Soldier

Author Weldon L. Haywood was born on a 50-acre farm in a small town, Wade, North Carolina.

While growing up, he enjoyed reading old west fiction books. From reading them and watching TV shows such as Bonanza, The Big Valley, Gunsmoke, and The Waltons, he developed a desire and imagination to one day write similar stories in the future. It was years later before he took the time to pursue that desire and exhibit his imagination.

Author Weldon L. Haywood began writing during the COVID. Since then, he has written and published three books, Sham & Shel Book 1, 2 & 3. He also has a fourth book, “Sent By Your Father, With Love,” due to be published by the end of October 2022. Sham & Shel Books 4 & 5 are written and ready for publication. In addition, he has three other books, “Family Traitor,” “Rita’s Inheritance Trial,” and “Searching For Anna,” written and ready for publication.

He had seven siblings, four brothers and three sisters; his oldest sister and youngest brother are deceased, along with his parents.

Weldon’s four brothers and he all served in the military at some point in their lives. His two oldest brothers served in the Army. Weldon and his two younger brothers served in the Marine Corps.

Latest Book

Vernon Fuller had not been to Jasper, Missouri, for more than twenty years. He had been driven away from the area under the gunpoint of three men and given a warning never to return. He was now the owner of a small ranch about five days ride from Jasper. He had an assistant foreman named Leon Elliott that he trusted 100 percent.

Before the warning, Vernon had been working as a cowhand on one of the large ranches in the area, the Circle M. The ranch was owned by a man named Samuel McKnight. Samuel McKnight had driven Vernon away from the area after learning that he had been having a secret, intimate relationship with his daughter, Margie.

There was another large ranch in the area, the Circle C, owned by a man named James Caldwell. James Caldwell had a son named Christopher. James Caldwell and Samuel McKnight were best friends. They had made an agreement whereby their son and daughter would marry when Margie became twenty years of age.

Now twenty years later, Vernon Fuller has received a letter from Margie, asking him for help. While reading the letter, Vernon learned that Samuel McKnight and Christopher Caldwell were dead, and no one knew James Caldwell’s whereabouts. Most importantly, Vernon learned that he has a daughter named Laura.

Leon agreed to go to Jasper on Vernon’s behalf and provide any assistance he could to Margie and Laura. Neither of the women was to be told upfront Vernon Fuller had sent him. Margie had requested in her letter that Laura not be told Vernon was her father.

Read about the adventures Leon encounters as he works to solve the puzzle of how Christopher died and the unknown whereabouts of James Caldwell. Enjoy reading of how those adventures led to a totally unimaginable romance and rekindled another…

Other books by author Weldon L. Haywood

Sham & Shel Book 1 is the beginning of what should have been a forbidden love affair. They both knew it, but their passionate desires for each other would not allow them to accept it.

Now with their romance protected, Sham, Shel, and her younger siblings (the little ones as they became known) set out on another journey. This one would involve them exploring the vast land plot that would become their new home–the Slash Double S Ranch.

Now read about the adventures Sham and Shel endure in their quest to build their new ranch.

Customer Reviews

Press Releases

Contact Author